Tags

, , , , ,


First of all a very Happy and Prosperous New Year to all my Readers and well-wishers. I am writing a blog after a long time – yes nearly after a gap of 1 year, hence I have made a New Year resolution to have at least two posts per month. I hope I will be able to meet this dead line. The hits in my blog have surpassed the count of 2000 and I thank each and every one for being an active supporter.

PK0I am happy that I am starting this year with movie review of PK, since the ideology behind it is of great importance for us Indians. Controversies in various forms were around the movie right from its inception. Groups and mobs have made it a practice to create noise for each and everything may be for their own publicity since they will be in limelight.

The core story revolves around PK an alien who has travelled light years to learn about earth where the inhabitants are identical to them. In their planets they don’t wear clothes and they don’t talk, they communicate with each other through holding hands. Their thoughts get exchanged and hence there is no scope for lies, the inmates don’t even know what it is. The movie then develops into questioning various superstitions which we follows without any thought process, this is created as a religious satire.

I would consider this as a work under magical realism, where realistic events are put in magical scenarios. This kind of approach has previously been beautifully utilized by legends like Gabriel Marquez, Salman Rushdie etc. The screenplay and direction is really remarkable, kudos to Rajkumar Hirani. Childish and innocent performance by Aamir Khan needs special appreciation. The only area which lacked lustre was musical department which have scope for improvement.

Aamir Khan and Anushka Sharma in PK Movie Posters

Despite being taking a serious subject the crew has ensured that audience will not stop themselves from laughing throughout the movie. While watching the film my mind started wandering through the shores of the thought that the film has triggered. It takes real guts and lot of moolah (brain) to create such a film since the theme is so sensitive especially for India. I go with a rating of 4 out of 5 for this wonderful and thought provocative film.

After thought: As I write this, in a corner of Saudi Arabia (Jeddah) Raif Badawi is receiving in instalments (Total sentenced 1000 whips) whiplashes sentenced for condemning the terrorist attack against French magazine Charlie Hebdo in the name of Insulting Islamic religion. My dear brother I am hurt by your sufferings and salutations for the courage you have displayed for condemning the attacks by fanatics called terrorists.

PK2Summary:
Title: PK
Director: Rajkumar Hirani
Language: Hindi
Country: India
Year of Release: 2014
Artists: Aamir Khan, Anushka Sharma, Sushant Singh Rajput, Boman Irani, Saurabh Shukla, Sanjay Dutt
Music: Ajay Atul, Shantanu Moitra, Ankit Tiwari
Rating: 8/10